I got freshly pressed! A retrospective on my blogging experience thus far.

fresh press

 

Hi blogosphere, new followers and old!

I just wanted to say thank you to everyone who’s been visiting and interacting on my site. I gotta admit–I never expected too much out of blogging. I kind of did it for the hell of it, you know? An everybody-else-has-one-and-I-should-too kind of attitude. I originally intended to just to post some writing pieces, sprinkle in some poetry, maybe the humorous anecdote or two to add some variety. A sideshow type deal. 

But I was really surprise by the quality of bloggers I met through messages and comments and posts. I was more than surprised–I was inspired. Y’all are pretty awesome, in a very real honest way. Obviously, there’s bad apples in every bunch. But all you have to do is click ‘unfollow’ and they’re rooted out, in a sense. It’s an pretty cool system and I got comfortable.

This happened to coincide with a time in my life that my father showed up after ten years of absence and a lot of heartache. I’m living abroad and I’m a bit disconnected from home. Although I have friends, coworkers, flatmates, etc here, I felt uncomfortable dumping that on them. No one wants to be the girl who starts talking about Daddy issues at the pub a month in…

So, I wrote a little letter to my father. And, in the middle of the night, I posted it on here to see what people would say. And I was blown away by how encouraging and kind the comments back were. I mean, really awesome stuff. And, even more incredible, I actually felt better. The words typed on computers half way around the world, by fingers of complete strangers I will never meet and can only recognise by gravatar handles–those words helped me. I felt a little less alone in it. Even if my friends didn’t know that I was struggling to wrap my brain around my–ugh!–family problems, the people belonging to those gravatars did! That’s so awesome. That’s so special. Modern technology is wicked cool.

So, I’ve recently been freshly pressed. I’m pretty pumped about it–I am a writing student, after all, so to my vanity I do love recognition of my writing. But, more importantly, I just want to thank everyone who’s read what I’ve written. Everyone typing on their laptops, desktops, tablets, smart phones, etch a sketches–whatever you’ve got. You really have helped me figure this stuff out, if only because I knew someone was reading. If only because I know I wasn’t alone out here.

Thanks. 

Blog on, blogosphere. Keep typin’.

31 thoughts on “I got freshly pressed! A retrospective on my blogging experience thus far.

  1. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed, Emily! You totally deserve recognition for your excellent writing. Well done! I enjoy your blog very much. Keep up the inspired work, my friend!
    Cheers,
    Tyler 🙂

    1. Thanks Tyler! I really appreciate all the encouragement you’ve given me since first following-contact was made! If you’ll keep reading mine, I’ll keep reading yours 🙂 Of course, I’d prolly keep reading yours anyways…

  2. Lara

    I’m glad Freshly Pressed helped me find your blog! I am enjoying the quality and honesty of your writing. The honesty especially particularly impresses me, it is something I too have strived for but found very hard to achieve completely in this public forum. My mother in law is still not talking to me after my first post!

    1. And I’m very glad you’ve found me! It’s tough to be honest, even in the anonymous ether that is the internet. I find it difficult to be honest with myself, even, which is why I’m doing this in the first place. I don’t let my friends/most people see my blog. I keep it super private. My mom and my aunt are the only privileged ones, for just that reason. And even then I still get some ‘why did you post that!?’ comments. For me, it’s been liberating. Maybe start a blog and literally tell no one? Send me the link if you do. I’d love to see what you say when no one but strangers are reading 🙂 For those of us who are a bit more closed off, it can be really really rewarding.

      Thanks for the visit and the best of luck to you!

  3. Been meaning to ask you

    I love your Banner pic

    I was born, and spent my first 20 yrs in Edinburgh, so immediately recognised the pic of the shops in the Cannongate.

    From the high wire artist in the foreground, I assume the pic was taken during the Edinburgh Festival ?

    Is this a pic you found on the web or one you took yourself?

    And if the latter, when were you in Edinburgh?

    And what did you think of my home city? 😆

    1. Haha good eye you’ve got! It was actually a strangely nice/non-raining day in March–weird, huh? I took the photo myself 🙂 Glad you liked it.

      I LOVE EDINBURGH. I’ve been living in Scotland since September and it’s an incredible city. I know a lot of people who prefer Glasgow–and don’t get me wrong, you can’t beat the shopping–but Edinburgh is one of the most magical and special cities in the world for me. I felt an instant connection the moment I stepped off the bus at Waverley. Granted, I grew up in New Hampshire and went to school in Baltimore, so castles and cobblestones were a whole new world for me. But I loved it, even when my heels caught in the cobblestones 🙂

  4. I’ve really enjoyed your writings. Honest & normal (not in an insulting way). I understand the way you talk and that is hard to find in writers. Most of the time they talk as if they are writing an article for ‘The Times’ newspaper!
    I’d be very thankful for any comments on my poetry, totally amateur and from the heart.
    P.S I was born in Edinburgh, but unfortunately moved when I was 5. I did however visit relatives every year for the next 10 years and loved the festival time. I miss it terribly.

  5. I love this. I too expected very little. And although my blog gets neglected at times, I can already see an improvement in my ability to convey thoughts. Bravo on your work. Love your writing style!

  6. Great post. I am new to blogging and I am getting excited about it. I’m also getting excited to see the great bloggers I like to read consistently. I wish I would have started a year ago. Thanks and keep bringing great post.

Leave a Reply

