A Brief Thanks to Moms

I’m very close with my mother. As some of you are aware, it’s been a rocky road with my father. But my mother’s that special type of parent who would kill for me–no questions asked aside from, “Where do you want to bury the body?”

 

Because of my dad, I’m only too aware of how lucky I am to have a great mother to advise me, love me and show me how to be a good parent. I have limitless respect for mothers, single, married, remarried–what have you. So to all you mom’s out there (especially mine) thanks for doing the job! Even when we yell at you for making us clean our rooms or being a bit pushy on real estate advice (I didn’t make it to the open house, mims… I think they’re giving the flat to someone else), just know we push because we’re comfortable with you. That’s probably not fair, but you’re the person we trust the most if you’ve done your job right. Sometimes that makes us bratty. But like our explanation for why the dog attacks the mailman, it’s because she loves ya 🙂

 

Love you mims!

 

Image

5 thoughts on “A Brief Thanks to Moms

  1. MinNJ

    I don’t know if you are still blogging, since this was written in 2013, but I want to thank you for writing this. I’m a mother of 2 little girls (ages 5 and 8) whose father stopped contact with them 4 years ago. He pays Child Support because it is legally garnished out of his paychecks. But if he passed our daughters on the street, he probably wouldn’t even recognize them. It is a blessing and gift raising my daughters and sharing my special bonds with them. I don’t consider it work. I think the most difficult part of it all is trying not to speak negatively of him while answering their questions, “Why don’t I have a Dad?” Explaining that HIS choices are bad, not HIM as a person. When deep down inside, it is vile to me that he could go on with his life acting like they don’t exist. I read your letters and wonder if one day my girls will write something similar. It pained me to read your raw emotions flowing so freely from you, as if your pain is still fresh. My daughters also have a “half” sister, years older than them, who also chooses not to have contact with them…yet she still sees their father. It is the most bizarre situation, combined with the fact that his mother still tries calling my children acting like nothing is wrong. Although in her brief conversations, she attempts to ask my children enough questions to satisfy her curiosity about our life, rather than exploring her son to do so. Anyway…I am happy to have come across your site, and I wish you all the best. Thank you for your recognition of moms!

Leave a Reply

